Perell takes New England 9-Ball Championship

Perell takes New England 9-Ball Championship

Ernest Perell, Randy Labonte

Ernest Perell, a C+ handicap player, defeated an A+ opponent – Randy Labonte – twice to go undefeated and capture the New England 9-Ball Championships on Sunday, April 18. The $1,000-added, New England 9-Ball Series  event, with a total purse of $2,920, drew 64 players to Legends Billiards in Portsmouth, NH.

Perell took out a B+ player, Rich Senna, with a 4-4 win among the winners’ side final four to get into the hot seat match versus Labonte, who’d just sent Paul Linteras west 6-1. Perell gained the hot seat with a 4-5 win over Labonte.

On the one-loss side, Senna drew Greg Murry, who’d defeated Rich Minichello 5-3 and Kevin Sun 5-2. Nick Connor, who’d shutout John Smith and defeated Andy Maynard 5-2 squared off against Linteras. Murry made Senna’s journey west a one-stop operation, defeating him 5-3, while Linteras dropped Connor into the tie for fifth place 4-3. In the quarterfinals that followed, Linteras defeated Murry 4-2.

Labonte had allowed Linteras only a single rack in the earlier meeting among the winners’ side final four. In the semifinals, he gave up even less, shutting Linteras out 6-0 for a second chance against Perell.

Their second meeting was a duplicate of their first in the hot seat match. Perell defeated Labonte 4-5 again to take home the first place prize.

1st Ernest Perell $1,050

2nd Randy Labonte $550

3rd Paul Linteras $300

4th Greg Murry $200

5th Nick Connor $125

Rich Senna

7th Andy Maynard $75

Kevin Sun

9th Gareith Steel $60

Nelson Olivera

Rich Minichello

John Smith

13th Cleiton Rocha $45

Ryan Hodsen

Joe Dupuis

Rob James

Robinson Wins at Legends

ACS Presents Lucasi Hybrid All American Tour Results from Legends Sports Bar

(photo L-R: Ryan Robinson (1st) and Charlie Wolfe (2nd))

The twenty-eighth stop on the 2009-2010 Lucasi Hybrid All American Tour (produced by the American CueSports Alliance – ACS) was produced in Clinton, IA, on Saturday, January 30.  The $500 added event featured a full 49-player field in a double-elimination 8-ball format on 7-foot bar boxes.  Ryan Robinson (Davenport, IA), rated a “5” on a regional handicap system, rolled to the hot seat, including an A-side semifinals win over Don Sager [5] (Clinton, IA) 5-2 and A-side finals win over Charlie Wolfe [4] (Rockford, IL) 5-1.  Charlie Wolfe won his A-side semifinals match over Will Kohl [5] (DeWitt, IA) 4-1 prior to his loss to Robinson, and Wolfe then awaited his opponent in the B-side finals.

In the B-side round of eight, Frank DeCastecker [6] (Moline, IL) and Chad Vilmont [8] (Clinton, IA) eliminated Jason Totten [5] (Clinton, IA) 6-4 and Barney Olinger [5] (Prophetstown, IL) 8-4 respectively at 7th place.  The B-side quarterfinals showcased Don Sager [5] and Chad Vilmont [8] ousting DeCastecker [6] 5-5 and Kohl [5] 8-1 respectively at 5th place.  In the B-side semifinals, the spot was too much for Vilmont, as he lost out to Sager 5-4 for a 4th place finish.  Charlie Wolfe finally faced his B-side finals opponent – Don Sager – and Wolfe promptly took down Sager 4-3 to claim another shot versus Robinson for the title.  The tourney finals only lasted one set, as Ryan Robinson eked out a win on the hill – 5-3 – over Charlie Wolfe to claim the title!

By virtue of Ryan Robinson being the highest-finishing ACS member in the event, he qualified for a free 8-Ball singles entry into the 2010 ACS Nationals in Las Vegas – courtesy of the ACS.  The ACS wishes to thank sponsors Lucasi Hybrid Cues, Championship Billiard Fabric, Nick Varner Signature Cases, Ozone Billiards, Pool Cue Guru and Billiard Gods Productions for their support in donating “Value-In-Kind” product for this and all stops on the Lucasi Hybrid All American Tour. All entries in the Tour are also entered into a drawing in January for a $1,000 Lucasi Hybrid Cue, courtesy of Ozone Billiards.  Sponsorship opportunities and tour stop openings are still available for the 2009/2010 All American Tour by contacting the ACS.

The Tour showcases E. Moline, IL, on Saturday, February 6, for a $500-added 8-ball stop at Leisure Time Billiards (contact Dwaine Bowman at 309-752-9559). Further information, entry details and schedules for the 2009/2010 Lucasi Hybrid All American Tour are available at

Final Results:

1st Ryan Robinson (Davenport, IA)        $410 + $75 side pot + Free Singles entry to ACS Nationals

2nd Charlie Wolfe (Rockford, IL)             $295

3rd Don Sager (Clinton, IA)                     $210

4th Chad Vilmont (Clinton, IA)               $135 + $50 side pot

5-6th Frank DeCastecker (Moline, IL)         $85

Will Kohl (DeWitt, IA)

7-8th Jason Totten (Clinton, IA)                  $60

Barney Olinger (Prophetstown, IL)

9-12th John Gorsch Sr. (Cedar Rapids, IA)   $35

Brian Hearl (Newton, IA)

Paul Wright (Moline, IL)

Ron Pluym (Dubuque, IA)