Junior National Scholarship Winners

Ozone Billiards BEF Junior Nationals Scholarship Winners Awarded

(Back row L to R: Billy Thorpe, Landon Shuffett, Jauslinn Arnold, Jesse Engle, Kevin Sun, Danny Olson - Front row L to R: Briana Miller, Liz Lovely, Taylor Reynolds, Shawn Begay, Brendan Crockett)

Nearly 100 junior billiard athletes competed in the Billiard Education Foundation (BEF) 22nd Annual Junior National 9-Ball Championships at Northern Illinois University (NIU) on July 7-11, 2010. Participants took aim to compete for prizes, an opportunity to participate in the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) World Junior 9-Ball Championships and scholarship funds for higher education made possible through the Ozone Billiards BEF Junior Nationals Scholarship awards.

Sponsorship by Ozone Billiards provided academic scholarship funds to be awarded to the top 8 finishers of the four division event, $1,000 to each of the four winners and $500 to each second-place finisher.

19 & Under Boys’ Division

1st Landon Shuffett of Greensburg, KY

2nd Jesse Engel of Columbia Heights, MN

19 & Under Girls’ Division

1st Liz Lovely of Centerville, OH

2nd Jauslinn Arnold of Bakersfield, CA

14 & Under Boys’ Division

1st Billy Thorpe of Dayton, OH

2nd Kevin Sun of Harvard, MA

14 & Under Girls’ Division

1st Briana Miller of Allentown, PA

2nd Taylor Reynolds of Winslow, ME

Congratulations to the winners of the Ozone Billiards BEF Junior Nationals Scholarships. The BEF wishes to thank Ozone Billiards for its support as well as all the 2010 Junior Nationals sponsors: Simonis Cloth, Delta-13 Rack, Aramith Billiard Balls, Billiard Congress of America (BCA), CueSport College International, Dr Cue Promotions and Northern Illinois University (NIU)/ Huskies Den. Also, many thanks to all the product donors who contributed to the junior prizes, the staff and volunteers who helped make this event a success.  A complete list can be viewed on the BEF website at www.Billiard Education.org.

About Billiard Education Foundation

The Billiard Education Foundation (BEF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which is committed to promoting education and encourages the development of life skills through youth billiard programs. The BEF funds academic scholarships, produces the Junior National 9-Ball Championships, sponsors billiard athletes to attend the WPA World Junior 9-Ball Championships and promotes “Pool In School” programs. For more information, please visit www.BilliardEducation.org or call 303.926.1039.

Perell takes New England 9-Ball Championship

Perell takes New England 9-Ball Championship

Ernest Perell, Randy Labonte

Ernest Perell, a C+ handicap player, defeated an A+ opponent – Randy Labonte – twice to go undefeated and capture the New England 9-Ball Championships on Sunday, April 18. The $1,000-added, New England 9-Ball Series  event, with a total purse of $2,920, drew 64 players to Legends Billiards in Portsmouth, NH.

Perell took out a B+ player, Rich Senna, with a 4-4 win among the winners’ side final four to get into the hot seat match versus Labonte, who’d just sent Paul Linteras west 6-1. Perell gained the hot seat with a 4-5 win over Labonte.

On the one-loss side, Senna drew Greg Murry, who’d defeated Rich Minichello 5-3 and Kevin Sun 5-2. Nick Connor, who’d shutout John Smith and defeated Andy Maynard 5-2 squared off against Linteras. Murry made Senna’s journey west a one-stop operation, defeating him 5-3, while Linteras dropped Connor into the tie for fifth place 4-3. In the quarterfinals that followed, Linteras defeated Murry 4-2.

Labonte had allowed Linteras only a single rack in the earlier meeting among the winners’ side final four. In the semifinals, he gave up even less, shutting Linteras out 6-0 for a second chance against Perell.

Their second meeting was a duplicate of their first in the hot seat match. Perell defeated Labonte 4-5 again to take home the first place prize.

1st Ernest Perell $1,050

2nd Randy Labonte $550

3rd Paul Linteras $300

4th Greg Murry $200

5th Nick Connor $125

Rich Senna

7th Andy Maynard $75

Kevin Sun

9th Gareith Steel $60

Nelson Olivera

Rich Minichello

John Smith

13th Cleiton Rocha $45

Ryan Hodsen

Joe Dupuis

Rob James