(Photo: David Gutierrez & Andy Jethwa)

The first Lone Star Event held at the brand new Houston’s Billiard Saloon drew Texas’ “cream of the crop” players including Charlie Bryant, David Gutierrez, Doug Young, Brian Rosenbaum, Andy Jethwa, Ernesto Bayaua, Marc “Mighty Mouse” Garza and junior champion brothers J.C. and Joey Torres. There were 51 entrants in all, with 11 women, who turned out to play for almost $4,000 in cash.

Saturday’s play whittled the field down to 12 for Sunday. Winners’ side final 8 match-ups included an “All Louisiana” shoot-out between Robert Dorsey and Derrick Cantu, Grady Cooper v. Jethwa, Brent Thomas v. Bryant, and Gutierrez v. Rosenbaum. On the west side, it was Sonny Bosshamer, Yoko Joe, Young and Garza. Winners’ side yielded Dorsey v. Jethwa, and Bryant v. Gutierrez; Cantu v. Garza and Thomas v. Rosenbaum on the one loss side. Ultimately, east side action saw Jethwa and Bryant face-off for the hot seat. Jethwa played perfect and defeated Bryant 9-3 while Dorsey and Gutierrez bested Rosenbaum and Garza respectively. Gutierrez then eliminated Dorsey 7-2, Bryant 7-5, and met Jethwa in the final. The first set went to Gutierrez 9-6, but the second set was game for game. In the final hill hill game, players traded shots on a 6-ball safety until Gutierrez made a crucial mistake that left Jethwa out. It was a thrilling finale that had fans and live stream viewers on the edge of their seats!

Shaun Inscoe, Derrick Cantu, GM Glenn Thompson, Robert Dorsey

On A Special Note: Who says the same players always win? Andy Jethwa has been a Lone Star Tour Player since its early beginnings in 2009.  The path he has adhered to, and playing regularly on the Lone Star tour, has helped propel him to his first win on the Lone Star tour  which is a significant win in the sport of billiards.  He became the 10th title winner this year. We applaud him for his perseverance and dedication to improving his game and becoming a true champion.

The ladies event drew 11 top Texas women that included Terry Petrosino, Ming Ng, Courtney Peters, Ricki Casper, Teresa Garland and Austin favorite Jasmine Bartz. It was a mother-daughter hot seat match between Robyn Petrosino and mother Terry who ultimately bested daughter 7-2. After she suffered an initial final four blow by T. Petrosino 7-4, Ng fought back with wins over Casper, Peters, R. Petrosino, and finally T. Petrosino for the win.

Kim White, Junior Player Michael Fain

Congratulations to Kerry “The Panther” Ganther and Leroy Hawkins who finished top 16, their highest finishes to date. Ricki Casper won a Poison Strychnine Redline Cue and junior player Michael Fain took home a Poison VX Jumper in the Lone Star raffles which help support the venues.

Finally, many thanks to Bobby and Chris Rone and their Houston’s Billiard Saloon staff for providing yet another first rate tournament room in Houston. LSBT thanks its sponsors, Poison Cues, Delta-13 Rack,, and Barnett Ranching for their continued support.

The next tour stop will be October 9th-10th at Slick Willie’s in Houston, Westheimer @ Dairy Ashford. There will be 4 events at this stop: Open 10-Ball, Ladies 9-Ball, Open One Pocket, and a Junior Tournament.

Open Payouts:

1st David Gutierrez $700

2nd Andy Jethwa $500

3rd Charlie Bryant $300

4th Robert Dorsey $200

5th-6th Brian Rosenbaum, Marc Garza $100 ea.

7th-8th Brent Thomas, Derrrick Cantu $80 ea.

9th-12th Sonny Bosshamer, Doug Young, Yoko Joe, Grady Cooper $45 ea.

13th-16th Kerry Ganther, Leroy Hawkins, Joey Torres, Jason Bacon





Ladies Payouts:

1st Ming Ng $230

2nd Terry Petrosino $135

3rd Robyn Petrosino $90

4th Courtney Peters $50

5th-6th Loretta Lindgren, Ricki Casper

7th-8th Teresa Garland, Heather Bryant

9th-12th Belinda Lee, Jasmine Bartz, Bobby Nguyen






(Photo: Tommy Tokoph, Kyu Yi, Ming Ng, Derek Fontenot)

It was a 2010 record turnout for the Lone Star Tour this past weekend at Bogies Billiards where 83 Open players, 13 One Pocket players, and 16 ladies gathered to play for over 10k in cash. Players from all over the globe converged on Houston and included Louisiana’s Derek Fontenot, New Mexico’s own Tommy Tokoph, Canada’s P.J. Masicotte and Kevin Murphy, Arizona’s Evan Beeson, and Texas shooters David Gutierrez, James Davis, Jr., and Charlie Bryant.

Open 9-Ball matches ended on Saturday night and brought back the final 24 on Sunday.  All day, Tommy Tokoph and Derek Fontenot fought their way to the hot seat, and the one loss side final four saw newcomer Francisco Taylor, blast from the past, Gerald “Top Water” Jackson, James Davis Jr. and Jason Bacon. Fontenot secured his position over Tokoph  9-7 while on the west side, Jackson made quick work of Billy Sharp 7-2 and Bacon 7-6 and won a rematch with Tokoph who sent him west earlier 9-2. Tokoph topped Jackson again for a rematch with Fontenot. Tokoph played his heart out but Fontenot swiftly closed the set out 9-4 for his first well deserved tour title.

Open One Pocket players also retired Saturday afternoon and resumed play Sunday. It was David Gutierrez over James Davis Jr. for the hot seat while on the west side, Charlie Bryant bested Dave Favor, James Christopher, David Parker, and then Davis for a shot at Gutierrez.  Bryant came on strong the first set 3-0 but Gutierrez answered back the second set 2-0 and claimed first.

The ladies Open 9-Ball event fired up on Sunday with 16 women and included tour players Ming Ng, Deanna Kniola, Rebecca Archangeli, and Angela Martinez  just to name a few. It was Ng over Kniola 7-5 for the hot seat, and on the west side, Kyu Yi bested Terry Petrosino then Kniola for a rematch with Ng who sent her west earlier that day.  Both ladies were focused on the win, but Ng closed out the set 7-3 and captured her second consecutive tour title.

LSBT extends many thanks to our sponsors Poison Cues, Delta-13 Rack,, and James Barnett.  Because of you, POOL PAYS in the great state of Texas. God Bless everyone, and God Bless Texas.

We hope to see you at our next event July 24th-25th at Q Stix Billiards in Houston.

Payouts Not Including Auction

Open 9-Ball:

1st Derek Fontenot $800

2nd Tommy Tokoph $500

3rd Gerald Jackson $300

4th Jason Bacon $250

5th-6th Billy Sharp, Francisco Taylor $200

7th-8th Mike Alonzo, James Davis Jr. $275

9th-12th Thomas Madison, Ernesto Bayaua, Jessie Moore, Tony Mendietta $100

13th-16th Raymond Cardenas, Sonny Bosshamer, Rodney Stewart, Yoko Joe $70

17th-24th Dalton Riley, Brian Rosenbaum, Porter, Will Felder, Charlie Bryant, Brent     Thomas, Andy Jethwa, Jeff Fox $40

25th-32nd Blaine Barcus, Joe Long, Kevin Murphy, Thomas Juarez, David Mendiola, Jimbo Buller, James Christopher, P.J. Masicotte

One Pocket

1st David Gutierrez $700

2nd Charlie Bryant $400

3rd James Davis Jr. $200

Ladies 9-Ball

1st Ming Ng $260

2nd Kyu Yi $150

3rd Deanna Kniola $100

4th Terry Petrosino $65

5th-6th Courtney Peters, Angela Martinez

7th-8th Rebecca Riley, Loretta Lindgren

9th-12th Rose McRory, Robyn Petrosino, Belinda Lee, Laura Hsu

13th-16th Rebecca Archangeli, Ricky Casper, Teresa Garland, Tasha Salandanan