(photo: Jason Brown)

It was another outstanding Lone Star event held at the ever so accommodating Slick Willie’s Family Pool Hall on Westheimer @ Dairy Ashford in beautiful Houston, Texas. All in all there were 66 entrants in four divisions who played for over $5,000 in prize money.  Among the Open 10-Ball and One Pocket Divisions were Jason Brown, Andy Jethwa, David Gutierrez, Nick Hood, Marc Garza, and Charlie Bryant along with touring regulars Rodney Stewart, Will Felder, Kerry Ganther and Grady Cooper, just to name a few.

Saturday’s first 3 rounds of play yielded a new look for the winners’ side with  APA Champion Don Bullard v. Grady Cooper, Alex Cardenas v. North Carolina’s Jason Brown, Danny Lee v. Andy Jethwa and Victor “Champion” Rojas v. David Gutierrez. Charlie Bryant found himself in unfamiliar territory when he was eliminated on Saturday by Brown 9-6 and Marc Garza 7-4.  On Sunday, Garza, Sonny Bosshamer, Blaine Barcus and Rodney Stewart waited in the wings while the east side produced Bullard v. Brown, and Lee v. Rojas.  Jethwa, Gutierrez, and Cardenas advanced on the left along with Barcus who was the only one of the original four who made it another round.  On the east side, Bullard fell to Brown 9-3 and Lee bested Rojas 9-5. Ultimately it was Jethwa v. Gutierrez and Barcus v. Cardenas on the west side. Gutierrez bested Jethwa then Bullard to reach Rojas who was on a streak of his own. Rojas sent Gutierrez west earlier 9-8 but Gutierrez exacted his revenge 7-1.  Meanwhile Jason Brown’s determination landed him in the hot seat 9-4 over Lee. Gutierrez made quick work of Lee but fell in the final to the undefeated Brown 9-5.

There were 12 ladies who appeared in full force on Sunday. Tournament hopefuls included, Ricki Casper, Tisha Hay, Robyn Petrosino, Yvette Reyes, and former pros Deanna Kniola and Ming Ng. It was Ng over Kniola 7-6 for the hot seat and on the west side, Belinda Lee over Casper. Kniola finished a respectable third while Ng took down Lee in the final 7-3.

Congratulations to David Gutierrez who captured the One Pocket event and Robyn Petrosino who won the 17 and under Juniors event.

LSBT extends many thanks to its sponsors; Poison Cues, Delta-13 Rack,,, and Barnett Ranching.

The next event will be held at Crazy 8’s Family Pool Hall in Port Arthur, Texas October 16th-17th.

Open Payouts (44 Entrants)

1st Jason Brown $700

2nd David Gutierrez $460

3rd Danny Lee $350

4th Victor Rojas $230

5th-6th Don Bullard, Alex Cardenas $120

7th-8th Andy Jethwa, Blaine Barcus $80

9th-12th Marc Garza, Sonny Bosshamer, Grady Cooper, Rodney Stewart $45

13th-16th Wally Escobar, Rauli Parvala, Nick Hood, Gerson Zelizondo


1st $700

2nd $500

3rd $350

4th $100

5th-6th $50

Ladies Payouts (12 Entrants)

1st Ming Ng $230

2nd Belinda Lee $150

3rd Deanna Kniola $100

4th Ricki Casper $50

5th-6th Robyn Petrosino, Yvette Reyes

7th-8th Loretta Lindgren, Jasmine Bartz

9th-12th Tisha Hay, Mandy Wood, Cindy Parvala, Judy Alvarez


1st $85

2nd $35

One Pocket Payouts (5 Entrants)

1st David Gutierrez $225

2nd Jason Brown $100


1st 60

Junior Payouts (5 Entrants)

1st Robyn Petrosino $50

2nd Nicholas Calderaro $25